Qualification-Determination Procedure

The following text is a translated excerpt from the examination regulations for the Master's course of studies (May 6, 2005) plus some clarifications (coloured background).
It is given only informally and has no legal relevance.


(1) The procedure described here is meant to determine the technical and personal qualification of applicants for the admission to the Master's Course of Studies in Computer Science.

(2) The prerequisite for the participation in the selection procedure is - as stipulated in §4 sect 2 of examination regulations for the Master's Course of Studies in Computer Science - the determination of the equivalence of the completed college studies of the applicants to the Bachelor's Course of Studies in Computer Science at the University of Kaiserslautern. Equivalence can generally be considered as granted for all accredited Bachelor's Course of Studies of Computer Science at German universities. In all other cases, equivalence will be determined by the examination board of the department on the basis of the studies' scope, contents, and orientation.

(3) Determination of qualification and - as the case may be - verification of the studies' equivalence will be conducted on the basis of the following documents to be added to the application in German or English:

  1. Leaving certificate of the study courses and - if required - further documents showing final grade, duration of studies, and other performances, e.g. in form of an academic transcript, transcript of records, or equivalent proofs of performance.
  2. Description of contents of the courses listed in No. 1.
  3. Statement with reasons for the intended takingup of the studies and explanations of study aims.
  4. Presentation of professional and personal development (curriculum vitae), if applicable, with descriptions of practical knowledge and experience.
  5. Recommendation letters of at least 2 university/college lecturers. The recommendation letters should include statement on how well the applicant completed his/her studies in relation to other candidates of the course of studies.
  6. For foreign applicants, a proof of English language proficiency is required. As proof, TOEFL iBT (score of at least 79) and IELTS (at least 6.0) are accepted. Exemptions for applicants from certain countries apply. Further information can be found on the online application platform.

    The University of Kaiserslautern requires proof of basic knowledge in the German language. This knowledge can be acquired after enrolment and is not required for admission.

As an option, additional proof or test results, such as GRE general or GRE subject test, can be added to the application if they may contribute to the determination of qualification.

(4) If a Bachelor's has been completed at the University of Kaiserslautern, only the documents described in Section 3, No. 1 will be required. If an accredited Bachelor's in computer science has been completed at another German university, only the documents described in Section 3, No. 1-5 will be required.

(5) The determination of qualification is performed on the basis of the documents listed in Section 3 by the examination board, and results in an assessment "qualified" or "non-qualified" for each of the applications. If the qualification of the applicant cannot be determined on the basis of the application documents, the examination board can demand additional results from a GRE general test or the GRE subject test in Computer Science as an additional qualifications proof or request the applicant to come to an application presentation of about a quarter of an hour.

(6) The qualification determination is based on the following assessment criteria:

  1. Active mastering of the English language
  2. Above average performance in the completed college graduation in computer science
  3. Practical knowledge and experience suitable for the Master’s studies
  4. Sufficient motivation for the studies
  5. Capability for concentrated and efficient studying

(7) If the applicant considered as “non-qualified” for the studies, he gets an official notification with instructions about the available legal remedies.

(8) The qualification-determination procedure can only be repeated if the applicant has acquired at least 60 LP in the area of Computer Science in addition to those of the last application or other additional practical knowledge and experience of at least one year.

(9) On the conducted qualification-determination procedures, minutes will be taken. For viewing the files, §25 sect 2 AMPO will be applicable.

Bewerber-Auswahlverfahren

Der folgenden Text ist ein Auszug aus der Fachprüfungsordnung für den Masterstudiengang Informatik (Stand 6.5.2005) zuzüglich einiger Präzisierungen (farbig hinterlegt).


(1) Das hier beschriebene Verfahren dient der Ermittlung der fachlichen und persönlichen Eignung eines Bewerbers zur Aufnahme in den Masterstudiengang Informatik.

(2) Voraussetzung zur Teilnahme am Eignungsfeststellungsverfahren ist, wie in § 4 Abs. 2 der Fachprüfungsordnung für den Masterstudiengang Informatik festgelegt, die Feststellung der Gleichwertigkeit des abgeschlossenen Hochschulstudiums des Bewerbes zu dem Bachelorstudium in Informatik an der TU Kaiserslautern. Die Gleichwertigkeit gilt generell für alle akkreditierten Bachelorstudiengänge der Informatik an deutschen Hochschulen als gegeben. In allen anderen Fällen wird die Gleichwertigkeit vom Prüfungsausschuss des Fachbereichs aufgrund des Umfangs, der Inhalte und der Ausrichtung des Studiums ermittelt.

(3) Die Ermittlung der Eignung und ggf. die Feststellung der Gleichwertigkeit des Studiums wird anhand folgender Unterlagen durchgeführt, die der Bewerbung in deutscher oder englischer Sprache beiliegen müssen:

  1. Abschlusszeugnis des Studiums und ggf. weitere Unterlagen, aus denen Abschlussnote, Dauer des Studiums und erbrachte Leistungen hervorgehen, beispielsweise in Form eines Academic Transcript, Transcript of Records oder entsprechenden Leistungsnachweisen,
  2. Beschreibung der Inhalte der in Nummer 1 aufgeführten Lehrveranstaltungen,
  3. Stellungnahme mit Beweggründen für die beabsichtigte Aufnahme des Studiums und Erläuterungen der Studienziele,
  4. Darstellung des beruflichen und persönlichen Werdegangs, ggf. mit Erläuterung praktischer Kenntnisse und Erfahrungen,
  5. Empfehlungsschreiben von mindestens 2 Hochschullehrern; die Empfehlungsschreiben sollten Aussagen darüber enthalten, wie gut der Bewerber in Relation zu anderen Absolventen seines Studiengangs abgeschnitten hat,
  6. bei ausländischen Bewerbern der Nachweis ausreichender englischer Sprachkenntnisse (B2-Niveau), falls das bereits abgeschlossene Studium nicht in einer dieser Sprachen durchgeführt wurde;
    • ausreichende Kenntnisse in englischer Sprache können durch Testresultate für TOEFL (mindestens 80 Punkte im internetbasierten Test, 213 Punkte im computerbasierten Test oder 550 Punkte im papierbasierten Test) oder entsprechende Testresultate (z.B. IELTS 6.0) dokumentiert werden; Ausländische Bewerber sollten außerdem GRE-Testresultate beilegen.
    • der Nachweis von Grundkenntnissen der deutschen Sprache ist wie in der Einschreibeordnung der TU Kaiserslautern beschrieben zu führen.
  7. Da der Master-Studiengang überwiegend in Englisch angeboten wird, muss der Fachbereich auch von deutschen Bewerbern ausreichende Englischkenntnisse fordern. Als Kriterium wird Abitur-Grundkurs oder Sprachprüfung B2-Niveau angesetzt. Studierenden, die dieses Kriterium nicht erfüllen, erlaubt der Fachbereich, dass diese im Rahmen des Allgemeinen Wahlpflichtfachs im Bachelor-Studium bis zu zwei Englischkurse (insgesamt 4 ECTS-LP) belegen.
Optional können zusätzliche Nachweise oder Testergebnisse, wie beispielsweise GRE General Test oder GRE Subject Test, der Bewerbung beigelegt werden, wenn sie zur Ermittlung der Eignung beitragen können.

(4) Falls ein an der TU Kaiserslautern abgeschlossenes Bachelorstudium der Informatik vorliegt, sind nur die in Absatz 3 Nr. 1, 3 und 4 beschriebenen Unterlagen erforderlich. Falls ein an einer anderen deutschen Hochschule abgeschlossenes Studium in einem akkreditierten Bachelorstudiengang der Informatik vorliegt, sind nur die in Absatz 3 Nr. 1-5 beschriebenen Unterlagen erforderlich.

(5) Die Feststellung der Eignung erfolgt in der Regel aufgrund der in Absatz 3 aufgeführten Bewerbungsunterlagen durch den Prüfungsausschuss und resultiert für jede Bewerbung in einer Bewertung „geeignet” oder „nicht geeignet”. Ist die Eignung des Bewerbers aufgrund der Bewerbungsunterlagen nicht feststellbar, kann der Prüfungsausschuss Testergebnisse, wie beispielsweise die Ergebnisse des GRE General Tests oder des GRE Subject Tests in Computer Science, als zusätzlichen Qualifikationsnachweis nachfordern oder den Bewerber zu einem ca. viertelstündigen Vorstellungsvortrag vor dem Prüfungsausschuss auffordern.

(6) Beurteilungskriterien für die Feststellung der Eignung sind insbesondere:

  1. aktive Beherrschung der englischen Sprache,
  2. überdurchschnittliche Leistungen in dem für den Masterstudiengang gemäß § 4 Abs. 2 vorausgesetzten Studium,
  3. praktische Kenntnisse und Erfahrungen, die dem Masterstudium förderlich sind,
  4. hinreichende Studienmotivation,
  5. Befähigung zu einem zügigen, effektiven Studium.

(7) Wird festgestellt, dass der Bewerber nicht geeignet ist, erhält er einen schriftlichen Bescheid mit Begründung und Rechtsbehelfsbelehrung.

(8) Das Eignungsfeststellungsverfahren darf nur wiederholt werden, wenn der Bewerber weitere Studiennachweise im Bereich der Informatik im Umfang von mindestens 60 LP oder zusätzliche praktische Kenntnisse und Erfahrungen von mindestens einem Jahr erworben hat.

(9) Über die durchgeführten Eignungsfeststellungsverfahren wird eine Niederschrift angefertigt. Für die Akteneinsicht gilt § 25 Abs. 2 AMPO entsprechend.